Vegetable Moo Shu

This is an old recipe that I have been making since my kids were pretty young. I started with several different recipes and just combined and modified over the years so much that I am not sure who I can really give credit to. Sometimes I add ground chicken or turkey, but usually we eat it vegetarian style. The egg and bean sprouts have plenty of protein so I don’t really feel a need to add the poultry most of the time. This is a dish that is loaded with vegetables and I was always excited that my kids liked to eat it. I think it was the sweet hoisin sauce and the tortillas that made it not seem like too many vegetables to them. Another little trick is that sometimes I make too much of this and then the next day I have added ground chicken or turkey and turned them into pot stickers. I actually did this the day after I made these – I am just a bit behind in publishing these recipes. So look out for my potsticker recipe in the near future.

Vegetable Moo Shu

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Healthy rendition of a favorite Chinese restaurant dish, loaded with vegetables.

Credit: I have decided that commercial hoisin sauce is full of too much sugar and un-pronounceable ingredients so I used this recipe to make my own sauce this time: Homemade Hoisin Sauce from omnivorescookbook.com. That said, I have used commercially made Hoisin Sauce for many years and everyone really likes it

Ingredients

  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 large eggs, stirred with a whisk
  • 1 teaspoon dark sesame oil
  • freshly ground pepper
  • 1 teaspoon low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons of minced ginger (fresh is best, but bottled works.
  • 1/2 sweet onion, finely chopped
  • 1 cup of shredded carrot (1 or 2 large peeled carrots)
  • 1/2 pound of Shiitake mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/2 pound of Cremini mushrooms, chopped
  • 12 oz bag of shredded broccoli slaw (I usually go for the freshly packaged organic kind, but you can throw a head of broccoli in a food processor as well)
  • 2 cups of fresh raw spinach, chopped
  • 12 oz bag of fresh mung bean sprouts
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (I usually put this on the side for those of us who are not afraid of a little spice but to spare those who are)
  • 1 cup hoisin sauce (see note above)
  • 8 flour tortillas (or make your own Mandarin pancakes – time consuming but better then tortillas – I have used this recipe: Cooking Light)

Procedure

  1. Heat a large skillet with some olive oil on medium heat. Mix the eggs with 1 teaspoon sesame oil, 1 teaspoon of soy sauce and a few turns of the pepper grinder. Pour into the skillet and cook like a thin omelette. Flip the egg and cook on both sides. Remove from pan and set aside. Cut into thin strips and cut those in thirds.
  2. Wipe pan and add a little more olive oil. Add garlic, ginger, sweet onion and carrots. Sprinkle with a little salt and some generous turns of the pepper mill. Cook, stirring frequently for 3 minutes.
  3. Add mushrooms to the pan and continue to cook for 5 more minutes or until mushrooms soften.
  4. Add the bean sprouts, spinach, green onions and red pepper flakes (if using).  Add a little salt and some more black pepper and cook for a few minutes, until the vegetables all begin to soften.
  5. Stir in 1/2 cup of the hoisin sauce. Remove from the heat.
  6. Warm the tortillas. Spoon some vegetable mixture into the tortilla and add a little hoisin sauce. Roll up and enjoy!

https://healthyseasonalcooking.wordpress.com

November 29, 2016

img_3394
Cooked and chopped egg
img_3393
grating ginger
img_3395
Vegetables

 

img_3392
chopping mushrooms
img_3396
All the cooked vegetables and egg ready to put into the wrappers (also good without the wrapper).
img_3399
Ready to eat!

Leave a comment