Braised Chicken with Cauliflower, Carrots and Marinated Artichokes

Wow, this was an amazing recipe! I made it for my husband, son and mother-in-law and everyone had seconds! This is from the most recent Food and Wine magazine. As usual I made some changes, most notably I don’t like dark meat chicken so I subbed organic boneless skinless chicken breasts for the chicken thighs. I also skipped browning the chicken in a pan before cooking in the baking dish which was a big calorie and time-saver and the dish was still very flavorful. Lastly I added some additional vegetables so I could make it a one-dish meal (well I also cooked some rice in the rice maker to server with the dish, but that is so easy it doesn’t really count as a second dish to cook). Unfortunately I didn’t feel confident that this would be so amazing so I didn’t take any photos, I will have to make it again and add photos then.

Braised Chicken with Cauliflower, Carrots and Marinated Artichokes

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Extremely flavorful and fairly easy braised chicken and vegetable recipe based on a Food and Wine recipe.

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • Fresh ground black pepper
  • 15 oz. marinated artichoke hearts, plus 1/4 cup marinade from the jar
  • 2 cups cauliflower florets
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and cut in thirds
  • 1 cup of Castelvetrano olives, pitted.
  • 1 whole head of fresh garlic, halved crosswise (keep the flaky skin on the garlic)
  • 1 lemon, thinly sliced
  • 6 thyme sprigs
  • 1 cup of chicken stock or low-sodium broth
  • 1/2 cup of semidry sherry, such as amontillado–NOTE: I don’t have sherry, and didn’t want to buy sherry for a recipe, so I used what I had available in my fridge, Mirin, which is a Japanese sweet cooking rice wine. I think it worked well. If you use regular white wine you may want to add a 1/2 teaspoon of sugar to capture some sweetness that the sherry would have had.
  • 1 tablespoon Asian fish sauce.

Procedure

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Spray a large baking dish lightly with cooking spray.
  3. Season the chicken with a little pepper. Place the chicken in the baking dish. Scatter the artichokes, carrots, olives, garlic, lemon slices and thyme sprigs in the baking dish.
  4. In a small bowl combine the artichoke marinade, stock, sherry and fish sauce. Pour over the chicken and vegetable mixture and then cover tightly with foil and cook in the oven for 45 minutes, or until the chicken is very tender.
  5. Uncover the the chicken and increase the oven to 400 degrees. Roast the chicken mixture for 15 minutes longer. Discard the thyme. Serve over rice (I made a simple jasmine rice in the rice cooker).

Note: I gathered the roasted garlic, mashed it up and stored it in a jar in the refrigerator. The next evening I spread it on some bread with a little olive oil and a sprinkle of kosher salt and broiled it in the oven. It made a very tasty garlic bread spread.

https://healthyseasonalcooking.wordpress.com    October 2016

 

Leave a comment