Ginger Soy Lobster Tail

I haven’t written for over two weeks and I am feeling bad about that. Sorry! Life has been quite busy, so that is part of the reason but the other reason is that my dear husband gave me a week-long class at the Culinary Institute of America in Napa as a holiday gift and I went to my classes last week. Such an amazing program! I went to the Basic Training Boot Camp and I feel like I learned a lot about the “why” we do certain things when we are cooking. I also learned many traditional French techniques, that I still need a lot of work to master and I am interested in tweaking to make the dishes more healthy.

Unfortunately I didn’t use my new skills/knowledge for today’s dinner. It was a very spontaneous choice as I was at the Grocery store and saw lobster tails on sale and decided that it was hard to pass up lobster, so I bought a few and made up a simple Asian-style sauce to put on them. Very simple and quick. I served it with some kale chips (which I thought I posted here but apparently I have not so you can get the recipe on my Medium site-I will have to post it on Word Press in the future) and a little leftover chicken soup from yesterday. Yum!

Ginger Soy Lobster Tail

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 25 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Very flavorful and simple lobster recipe that can come together quickly on a weeknight.

Unfortunately I didn’t really measure my sauce ingredients so they are very approximate – use your judgement with the quantities.

Ingredients

Sauce:

  • 1/4 cup Mirin
  • 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons fresh ginger, finely grated or minced
  • fresh ground black pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons light sweet miso

Lobster:

  • 4-8 lobster tails (their size can vary so much!)
  • fresh ground pepper
  • small drizzle of olive oil (or sesame oil for a stronger flavor)

Procedure

Sauce:

  1. In a very small sauce pan mix the Mirin, soy sauce, and ginger and then bring to a boil.
  2. Turn down to simmer and reduce the sauce in half so it is thickened.
  3. Take sauce off the heat and stir in the miso. Set aside.

Lobster:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Spray a baking sheet lightly with cooking spray.
  3. With kitchen shears cut the lobster tail shells lengthwise through the top cutting through the shell but not through the lobster meat. Gently pry open the shell exposing the meat and gently loosen the lobster from the shell (but keep the meat in the shell).
  4. Place the tails on the baking sheet meat side up. Sprinkle a little pepper and sauce on the tails and then cook in the oven for 7-8 minutes for very small lobster tails and up to 15 minutes for larger ones, or until the meat turns opaque and feels firm.
  5. Serve the lobster with additional sauce and vegetables. Enjoy!

https://healthyseasonalcooking.wordpress.com

February 9, 2017

Leave a Reply

