Sea Bass with Miso Sauce

Major umami! Sea Bass with miso sauce. I am sort-of obsessed with miso lately. I don’t think I have posted all the miso recipes I have been making lately, maybe because they are not always successful or pretty, but I have been experimenting with it quite a bit lately. In my fridge today I have four types of miso: light sweet miso, mellow white organic miso (nice that it is not very salty), organic shiro miso, and dark aged miso. Crazy, who knew that there are so many different types of miso! They really are very different, and I suppose they have different uses, but I am still learning…

So this recipe is inspired by a New York Times Cooking recipe entitled “Miso-Glazed Sea Bass.” I made some modifications, the big thing being that I didn’t add an egg yolk to the miso mix and glaze the fish, I just used the marinade in the recipe. My family liked it, no raves, but they never rave about fish, they just eat it and move on with life. I thought it had a lot of complicated umami flavor, which I really like and I hope you like it too. I served the fish with some Trader Joe’s Japanese Fried Rice and some cauliflower roasted with olive oil, fresh garlic, a little white balsamic vinegar, red pepper flakes, a little tiny bit of panko, and salt and freshly ground pepper. Yum! Besides my obsession with miso, I am also currently obsessed with roasted cauliflower.

Sea Bass with Miso Sauce

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Fairly easy Asian-inspired sea bass.

Credit: Food and Wine Miso-Glazed Sea Bass

Ingredients

  • 1 -1 1/2 pounds Sea Bass (or other white fish)
  • 1 tablespoon white miso
  • 1 tablespoon red miso
  • 1 tablespoon mirin (or sake)
  • 2 teaspoons of soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger
  • 1 teaspoon honey (or sugar of your choice)
  • salt and fresh ground black pepper
  • cooking spray

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Mix the miso through salt and pepper together in a small bowl. Spread the mixture on the fish and marinate for 20 minutes or longer.
  3. Bake the fish with the marinade for 15 minutes, or until cooked to your liking. I tend to cook my fish a little more than most people, so less time might be right for you.
  4. Serve with vegetables and rice.
  5. Enjoy and let me know how you like it!

https://healthyseasonalcooking.wordpress.com

January 19, 2017

 

img_3787
Raw cauliflower.
img_3789
The Sea Bass before cooking.
img_3790
Mushrooms with miso sauce before roasting
img_3791
Miso sauce.
img_3792
Cauliflower after roasting.
Leave a Reply

