Stuffed Baby Eggplant Parmesan

I went to the Farmer’s Market yesterday and I found some baby eggplants. So cute! I have never seen baby eggplants before so I decided I would buy some. My son was shopping with me (this is a rarity! He was really only there because he is a boy scout and had to sell wreaths at the market). Anyway, he suggested we stuff them. Wow, what a good idea, but with what??? Later I decided why not make it like eggplant parmesan, but stuffed. I think they came out pretty tasty on the inside, but I am not sure how to improve on the skin, it was sort-of chewy. I guess eating the skin can be optional.

img_3545

img_3550

Stuffed Baby Eggplant Parmesan

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

New twist on eggplant parmesan, but healthier and cuter. No frying involved, just a lot of super-healthy baked vegetables and it works well as either an appetizer or a side dish.

Ingredients

  • 6 baby eggplants (or one to two large eggplants)
  • 2 large Cremini mushrooms, finely diced
  • About 1 cup of fresh spinach, finely chopped
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup of chunky tomato sauce (I had some of my Basic Tomato Sauce in the freezer)
    • NOTE: Use a very chunky tomato sauce with onions and garlic, since the recipe is relying on these being in the sauce and I didn’t include adding extra onions and garlic into the vegetable mixture. If you don’t have them in the sauce then add a 1/4 cup of chopped onions and 1 minced garlic clove to the vegetable mixture.
  • 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese, shredded, divided
  • 1/4 cup of fresh Parmigiano Reggiano cheese, shredded
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh basil, chiffonade cut (thin strips)
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh parsley, roughly chopped (optional garnish)

Procedure

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Slice the eggplants in half lengthwise. Scoop out the inside flesh with a knife, leaving approximately 1/4 inch of flesh in the eggplant so it can serve as a cup for the vegetables. Chop the removed flesh into a small dice and put into a medium bowl.
  3. Roast the eggplant shells in the oven for 15 minutes, or until softened.
    1. Note:  Some people say salt the eggplant for an hour before roasting to make it less bitter but I think that the baby eggplants are not bitter and I have also read that salting is a waste of time, eggplants have been bred to not have that bitterness, so I skip that.
  4. Add the chopped mushrooms and spinach to the bowl. Add some salt and pepper the the vegetables. Microwave the vegetables for one to two minutes, until softened.
    1. NOTE: You could also sauté them with some olive oil for a few minutes on the cooktop, I just wanted to save time and calories today. 
  5. Add the tomato sauce and half of the mozzarella and parmesan. Mix thoroughly.
  6.  Fill the eggplants with the vegetable mixture, top with remaining cheese and bake for 12 minutes or until cheese is slightly browned.
  7. Remove from oven and sprinkle with the basil and parsley. Enjoy!

https://healthyseasonalcooking.wordpress.com

December 4, 2016

img_3551

img_3552
The chopped eggplant, mushrooms and spinach before cooking.
img_3553
Homemade chunky tomato sauce that I had in my freezer.
img_3555
The cooked vegetables mixed with the tomato sauce and cheese
img_3556
Eggplants ready to cook
img_3560
Coming out of the oven
img_3566
Finished eggplant, served as an appetizer
Leave a Reply

