Bulgogi – Korean BBQ Beef

Yesterday I spent so much time pouring through my recipe files and looking online for a beef and vegetable dish, and I just couldn’t find anything that sounded good, so I made a very simple sea bass and roasted vegetable dinner. Today without much effort I searched WordPress for a beef dish and I found Bulgogi on Always Fire and Honey blog.  That blog referred the reader to Lazy Mom Cooking blog, where the recipe originated. I have never a Korean dish before so I had no idea what to do with the somewhat vague instructions, so I searched further and decided that My Korean Kitchen  had an easier to understand version of a Bulgogi recipe. In the end I think I made a combination of the Lazy Mom Cooking and the My Korean Kitchen recipes adding some additional vegetables because we like vegetables in my household (ok, the carnivores here tolerate the vegetables as long as I provide some meat for them. I served the Bulgogi with simple sushi rice cooked in the rice cooker.  My family and I really liked this and I will definitely make this again!

Bulgogi- Korean BBQ Beef

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy-medium
  • Print

Korean BBQ Beef recipe with added vegetables.

Ingredients

  • About 1  1/2 pounds of organic grass-fed beef (I used half flat-iron steak and half beef tenderloin- just because I could’t get enough of the flat iron steak and the tenderloin was very expensive for what I was making. Traditionally Beef Rib Eye is used, but I find that too fatty).
  • 1 carrot, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 sweet onion, sliced thin
  • 3 green onions, sliced into small pieces
  • 2-3 bunches of baby bok choy, sliced into quarters
  • 6 large crimini mushrooms, sliced thinly
  • 6 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons of low sodium beef broth or stock
  • 3 tablespoons of honey
  • 2 tablespoons Mirin (sweet rice cooking wine)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons of dark sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoons of roasted sesame seeds (I forgot this)

Procedure

  1. Mix the soy sauce, beef stock, honey, mirin, garlic, and sesame oil together in a large bowl.
  2. Thinly slice the beef. You can freeze it for an hour or so to make it easier to slice thinly. Add the sliced beef, onions and green onions to the marinade. Marinate in the refrigerator for at least one hour, a few hours may be better. NOTE: Some recipes say it is traditional to add chopped fruit to the marinade to help tenderize the meat. I skipped this and used more tender meat.
  3. When ready to cook, heat up a large skillet on medium-high heat. Add a little oil of choice and when hot add the meat mixture and the marinade. Stir-fry for a few minutes until meat is cooked. Pull out cooked meat and place in a serving bowl. When there is room, add mushrooms and carrots to the skillet and cook for a few minutes in the marinade. Add the Bok Choy when the other vegetables are nearly cooked. Stir-fry for a minute of two until it wilts a bit. Remove all vegetables from the pan and continue to boil the marinade for a few more minutes so it reduces some. Pour remaining marinade into a ramekin to serve on the side.
  4. NOTE: Another way to do this is make the beef slices a bit larger and thicker and grill them and grill the vegetables. If you do this keep the marinade and boil it for 10 minutes or so and serve as a sauce.
  5. I have read that the traditional way to eat this is to take a small piece of lettuce and put a small amount of rice and a small amount of the beef mixture on it and eat it in one bite. Instead I made plain sushi rice in my rice maker and served the meat and vegetables over the rice with some extra sauce on the side. Both the hubby and 12 year old gave this a big thumbs up!

https://healthyseasonalcooking.wordpress.com

November 17, 2016

img_3441
Prepping the vegetables and the meat and onions are marinating.
img_3443
Ramekin of sauce
img_3442
The finished Bulgogi in the serving bowl
Leave a Reply

